skip to navigation | skip to content

Home  :  News
District News & Information

Back to Articles

Lafayette Parish School Board Members Earn Credit for Professional Learning

Act 705 of the 2010 Louisiana Legislature outlines the professional learning requirements for school board members and, in order to ensure that members’ professional learning is relevant to their duties on the board, designates which providers may offer sessions for credit towards the required hours. The Louisiana School Board Association, the Louisiana Department of Education, and state universities are among the approved providers who offer sessions on topics such as improving failing schools, high school redesign, school law, ethics, public bid law, the open meetings law, the minimum foundation program, and dropout prevention. The following board members earned continuing learning units for calendar year 2016.

Name  |  Units Earned

Tommy Angelle, 21.5

Elroy Broussard, 5.0

Justin Centanni, 2.0

Jeremy Hidalgo, 14.5

Erick Knezek, 12.5

Britt Latiolais, 14.5

Dawn Morris, 9.5

Mary Morrison, 6.0