skip to navigation | skip to content

Home  :  News
District News & Information

Back to Articles

Students at Two LPSS Elementary Schools Receive President’s Education Awards

Students at Prairie Elementary School in Lafayette and Westside Elementary School in Scott have been recognized by the President’s Education Awards Program (PEAP) for their achievement and hard work. A number of students at Prairie and Westside were nominated by their respective principals for the national award program, founded in 1983.

Students at all grade levels are eligible for nomination by their school principal for individual recognition, either for meeting certain academic requirements or for demonstrating outstanding educational growth. Criteria for the awards are determined by individual schools and recognition is bestowed by the President and the U.S. Secretary of Education in partnership with the National Association of Elementary School Principals and the National Association of Secondary School Principals. The award includes a congratulatory letter to the student and certificate signed by the President, the Secretary, and the school principal.

Unlike other awards programs, the principal has sole discretion in choosing recipients based on eligibility. Criteria may include GPA or LEAP score requirements and/or teacher recommendation. There is no limit on the number of awards as long as students meet the criteria for each award set by the school. More information about the PEAP awards can be found here.