skip to navigation | skip to content
home

Home  :  About LPSS  :  Divisions  :  Administrative  :  Child Welfare and Attendance  :  Employment of Minors  :  Louisiana Minor Labor Laws

Louisiana Minor Labor Law


TITLE 23, CHAPTER 3 OF REVISED STATUES, OF 1950 AS AMENDED

No minor under the age of 18 years shall be employed until the employer has procured and has on file an employment certificate for such minor issued by the city or parish superintendent of schools.

No minor under the age of 14 years may be employed, permitted or suffered to work except as provided in RS 23:151.

No minor under the age of 16 years shall be employed more than 8 hours in any one day, nor more than six consecutive days in any one week, nor more than 40 hours in any one week.

No minor under the age of 18 years shall be employed, permitted, or suffered to work for any five hour period without one interval of at least thirty minutes within such period for meals. Such interval shall not be included as part of the working hours of the day.

There are no time standards for minors 16 and 17 years of age regarding the numbers of hours worked per day or per week, however, minors shall receive an eight hour rest break at the end of each work day, before the commencement of the next day of work.

For purposes of the following items, a day during which school is in session will be that designated as such by the local school superintendent for the school district in which the minor resides.

(1) No minor 16 years of age who has not graduated from high school shall be employed, or permitted, or suffered to work between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. prior to the start of any school day.

(2) No minor 17 years of age who has not graduated from high school shall be employed, or permitted, or suffered to work between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. prior to the start of any school day.

(3) No minor under 16 years of age who has not graduated from high school shall be employed, or permitted, or suffered to work between the hours of 7:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. prior to the start of any school day, or between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. on any day.

(4) No minor under the age of 16 years shall be employed, permitted, or suffered to work more than three hours each day on any day when school is in session, nor more than eighteen hours in any week when school is in session.


PROHIBITED EMPLOYMENT

Minors (except those indentured as apprentices in accordance with Chapter 4 of Revised Statutes, Title23) shall not be employed, permitted or suffered to work in the following occupations:

(1) In oiling, cleaning, or wiping machinery or shafting, or in applying belts to pulleys;

(2) In or about any mine or quarry;

(3) In or about places where stone cutting or polishing is done;

(4) In or about any plant manufacturing explosives or articles containing explosive components, or in the use or transportation of the same;

(5) In or about iron or steel manufacturing plants, ore reduction works, smelters, foundries, forging shops, hot rolling mills, or in any other place in which the heat treatment of metals is done;

(6) In the operation of machinery used in the cold rolling of heavy metals, or in the operation of power-driven machinery for punching, shearing, stamping, bending, or planing metals;

(7) In or about sawmills or cooperage stock mills;

(8) In the operation of power-driven woodworking machines, or off-bearing from circular saws;

(9) In logging operations;

(10) As a driver of any motor vehicle on a public road if they are sixteen years of age or younger. Minors seventeen years of age or older may be employed, permitted, or suffered to work as a driver of a motor vehicle only under certain restrictions. (For an explanation of these restrictions contact the Louisiana Department of Labor at (225) 342-7824.)

(11) In the operation of passenger or freight elevators or hoisting machines;

(12) In spray painting or in occupations involving exposure to lead or its compounds, or to dangerous or poisonous dyes and chemicals;

(13) In any place or establishment in which the sale of alcoholic beverages, as defined in R.S. 26:241, constitutes its main business, unless the minor is a musician performing in a band on the premises under contract with the holder of the alcoholic beverage permit for a specified time period and is under direct supervision of his parent or legal guardian during such time. Any place or establishment holding a duly issued retail dealer's alcoholic beverage permit or license, for which the sale of alcoholic beverages does not constitute the main business of the establishment may employ anyone under the age of eighteen provided the minors employment does not involve the sale, mixing, dispensing, or serving of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.

(14) In any other place of employment or in any other occupation that the Assistant Secretary of the Office of Labor shall, after a public hearing thereon determine hazardous or injurious to the life, health, safety or welfare of such minors.


SPECIFIC VIOLATIONS: PENALTY

Any Person Who:

(1) Employs, permits, or suffers a minor to work in violation of the provision of this part; or

(2) Refuses to the Assistant Secretary of the Office of Regulatory Services or his authorized representatives admission to the premises where minors are employed, or otherwise obstructs the Assistant Secretary of the Office of Regulatory Services or his representatives in the performance of their duties; or

(3) Hides or causes any minor to escape or gives him warning of the approach of any officer charged with the enforcement of the provisions of this Part; or

(4) Violates any other provisions of this Part for which a penalty is not otherwise provided, shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500), or imprisoned for not less than thirty days nor more than six months, or both.

(5) Any person who violates these provisions shall, in addition to the criminal penalty provided above, be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500) for each violation which occurs.

CONTINUING VIOLATIONS: PENALTY

Each day during which any violation of these provisions continues shall constitute a separate offense and the employment of any minor in violation of these provisions shall, with respect to such minor, constitute a separate offense.