skip to navigation | skip to content

Wayne F. Vasher

Wayne Vasher

Wayne Francis Vasher, the oldest son of Bernard Harold Vasher and Verrannah D. Johnson, was born on July 24, 1932 in Wyandotte, Michigan. He married Pearl Carolyn Cesar and they are the parents of four children - Andre, Brendan, Barry, and Katrina. 

Dr. Vasher attended public schools from kindergarten through grade 12 in Wyandotte, Michigan. After graduation from high school in 1951, he entered Eastern Michigan College where he received his teaching certificate and Bachelor's Degree in 1955.  He began his teaching career in Highland Park, Michigan, and in 1960 received his Master of Arts Degree from Eastern Michigan College. 

Dr. Vasher was appointed to an assistant principal position in 1960 in Highland park and received his first principalship in 1962 in Lamphere, Michigan. 

In the 1966-67 school year, Dr. Vasher left public school work to pursue his doctoral program full time at Wayne State University, Detroit, Michigan. 

After serving as Superintendent of Schools in two Michigan school districts from 1972 to 1981, Dr. Vasher was appointed to serve as Superintendent of Lafayette Parish Schools, Lafayette, Louisiana, in January, 1981. It was under his leadership that the majority of a $70,000,000 building renovation program was completed... a program that provided every Lafayette Parish student with an air-conditioned, new or refurbished facility. It was under Dr. Vasher's leadership that Administrative Internship Programs were established and teachers became involved in the administrative selection process. Achievement test scores during this period also increased rapidly indicating improvement in instruction at all levels. Two schools were selected to receive the President's Education in Excellence Award in the 1985-86 school year. 

On January 27, 1987 Dr. Vasher resigned his position in Lafayette to assume a superintendency in Saginaw, Michigan, to be closer to his family and grandchildren. 

Mr. Preston J. Babineaux was President of the Board at the time of Dr. Vasher's appointment and served until his death in March, 1982 at which time Mr. Jerome Bourque was elected President of the School Board. He served until 1983 and in 1984 was followed by Mr. Stanley Andrus who served for one year. In 1985, Mr. Daniel Aucoin was elected President and served during the remainder of Dr. Vasher's tenure.