Skip to Main Content
Lafayette Parish School System
  • Home
  • News
  • LPSS Announces Principals of the Year 2023-2024

LPSS Announces Principals of the Year 2023-2024

LPSS Principals Of the Year 2023-2024

Pictured left to right are Christy Hayes, Tia Trahan, and Alex Melton

Christy Hayes, Elementary School Principal of the Year 2023-2024

Ms. Christy Hayes is this year's Elementary Principal of the Year. Ms. Hayes began her career as a special education teacher at Lerosen Elementary School and Live Oak Elementary. She then moved into an Instructional Support Service teacher where she worked with all of the new teachers in the district. In 2013 she moved to Woodvale Elementary where she served as the instructional leader and then was promoted to assistant principal.  

This is Ms. Hayes' 3rd year serving as principal of Martial Billeaud Elementary. During this time she has built a tremendous culture at Billeaud. In 2022 they received their first school performance score which resulted in an “A’ rating.  

Tia Trahan, Middle School Principal of the Year 2023-2024

Ms. Tia Trahan is this year's Middle School Principal of the year. Ms. Trahan began her teaching career in Lafayette Parish in 2003 and served as an elementary teacher at J.W. Faulk, Evangeline, and Katharine Drexel Elementary schools where she became a National Board Certified teacher. In 2017 she was appointed Reading Facilitator at Ernest Gallet Elementary School.  

Ms. Trahan began her administrative career in 2010 when she became assistant principal of Ridge Elementary. In 2011 she became assistant principal at Ernest Gallet Elementary School, and in the summer of 2012 she was appointed Principal of Milton Elementary and Middle School. She also served as Assistant Principal at DTSMA for several months.  In January of 2017 Ms. Trahan was appointed Principal of Lafayette Middle School.

Under her leadership, Lafayette Middle has moved from a D in 2019 with an SPS of 55.6 to a C in 2022 with an SPS of 66.7. LMS has been named by the state as a “Comeback Campus Recognition” School.

Alex Melton, High School Principal of the Year 2023-2024

Mr. Alex Melton is this year's High School Principal of the Year. Mr. Melton has been an educator for the past 24 years. He has taught math and science, and has served as dean of students, as well as an athletic director.  He was appointed assistant principal of DTSMA in July of 2012 where he served for 5 years. In the summer of 2017 he was appointed Principal of Early College Academy where he remained until this past summer when he was appointed as principal of David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy.

As the Principal of Early College Academy Mr. Melton garnered several recognitions. In 2019 the United States Department of Education recognized Early College Academy as a 2019 National Blue Ribbon School with an SPS of 131.9. In addition, in 2021 ECA was ranked the Highest Scoring School in the state along with being awarded the 2021 College Success Award. In January of 2021 ECA was named the National ESEA Distinguished School by the National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators.


Upcoming Events


Independence Day

All Day Event


This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.