Skip to Main Content
Lafayette Parish School System
  • Home
  • News
  • Lafayette Parish School System Announces 2024 Student of the Year Winners

Lafayette Parish School System Announces 2024 Student of the Year Winners

Student of the Year Winners 2024

The Lafayette Parish School System has formally announced the 2024 Student of the Year
Winners for 5th, 8th, and 12th grades.

Winners include:

Zephyr Acomb
5th Grade—Zephyr Acomb, Myrtle Place Elementary School

Tucker Berken
8th Grade—Tucker Berken, Youngsville Middle School

Ali Habib
12th Grade—Ali Habib, Lafayette High School

The students were evaluated based on a written essay, a student portfolio, and an interview
conducted by a panel of retired teachers and administrators. All candidates demonstrated
exceptional performance, showcasing their schools admirably throughout the entire process.

The winners will advance to the next stage, representing the Lafayette Parish School System at
the zone level of competition. We extend our best wishes to all students as they embark on this
phase. The Zone Competition is set to commence soon, with virtual interviews scheduled for
mid-December. Success in this round will propel the students to the regional-level of

Congratulations to these outstanding students.

Upcoming Events


Special Board Meeting

4:00 PM - 5:30 PM


Regular Board Meeting

5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.