Skip to Main Content
Federal Programs

Homeless Education Services

MISSION STATEMENT
The Mission of the Homeless Education Program is to connect Children, youth, and families experiencing homelessness with educational opportunities and community resources to increase stability and sustain success. 

The Lafayette Parish Homeless Children/Youth Education Program is based on the philosophy that education is the key to overcome and prevent the cycle of homelessness in families. Program activities are based on educational principles and have the common purpose of contributing to the positive physical, emotional, social, and academic growth of each child whose life we touch.

The main components of our project are awareness, enrollment assistance, provision of educational materials, coordination of school and community services and resources and summer programs. Our program is funded through the Stewart B. McKinney Assistance Grant.

Homeless Education Program Staff

Amy Fontenot

Federal Programs Manager (337) 521-7251 arfontenot@lpssonline.com
Shannor Miller Homeless Education Facilitator (337) 521-7175 sdmiller@lpssonline.com
Kearston Hawkins Homeless Education Facilitator (337) 521-7178 kshawkins01@lpssonline.com
Sara Yaeger Homeless Education Facilitator (337)521-7256 sdyaeger@lpssonline.com
Jamie Landry Homeless Education Facilitator  (337)521-7248 jjlandry@lpssonline.com
Jacey Lopez Social Worker (337) 521-7202 jmlopez@lpssonline.com
Rosalynn Johnson Social Worker (337) 521-7172 rrjohnson@lpssonline.com
Bonnie Abshire Secretary I (337) 521-7249 bbabshire@lpssonline.com

Parents who wish to enroll their children should call one of our team members or visit the following location:

Vermilion Conference Center
326 Gauthier Road,
Lafayette, LA 70501

Upcoming Events

DEC
20

Christmas Break

Start: Dec 20, 2021 End: Dec 31, 2021

Multi-Day Event

JAN
3

In-School In-Service

All Day Event

JAN
7

End of 2nd Nine Weeks

All Day Event

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.